History 2021-2022

Guy Carbonneau

The Chicoutimi Saguenéens are the result of the League's 1973-74 expansion.

Gilbert DelormeThe franchise enjoyed plenty of success in the 1990's. Indeed, the 1990-91 edition of the team, led by head coach Jos Canale, won the regular season crown and followed it up with a President Cup title.

Three years later, the Saguenéens would again lift the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League title. The team has reached five League finals.

Five of the franchise's players have won the scoring title: Sylvain Locas, Marc Fortier, Stéphane Morin, Ramzi Abid and Pierre-Marc Bouchard. Marc FortierFortier still holds since 1986-87 the team's season record of 201 points.

Moreover, a large number of its goaltenders have reached the National Hockey League: Sam St-Laurent, Daniel Berthiaume, Jimmy Waite, Félix Potvin, Eric Fichaud and Marc Denis.

In 2018-19, during the 46th season of the team, the Saguenéens have registered their historical 1500th win in regular season.

During the 50th anniversary season (2022-23), the Sags used a temporary new logo to celebrate this historical season.

Félix Potvin ( Guy Lafleur Trophy | 1991)The team's notables over the years include: Alain Côté, Normand Léveillé, Sylvain Locas, Guy Carbonneau, Gilbert Delorme, Marc Fortier, Jean-Marc Richard, Patrice Tremblay, Gaston Drapeau, Félix Potvin, Marc Denis, Pierre-Marc Bouchard, David Desharnais, Richard Martel, Charles Hudon, Renald Nepton, Yanick Jean, Dawson Mercer...

© Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. All rights reserved.