History 2021-2022

Simon Gagné

The franchise made its debut in Beauport in 1990.

The team was named the Harfangs and it played its games in the Marcel-Bédard Centre.

In 1995-96, club general manager, Raymond Bolduc, hired Alain Vigneault to take over the bench boss duties. Vigneault led the team to its first President Cup final, but the team fell to the eventual Memorial Cup champion, the Granby Predateurs.

In 1996-97, the franchise fell on hard times, and Swiss owner Jurg Staubli thought about moving the team to Lewiston, Maine.

A group comprised of Jacques Tanguay, Michel Cadrin and Patrick Roy bought the franchise and kept it in Quebec City.

The Remparts were reborn.Tied record - 27 consecutives games, undefeated streak (1998-99)

Head coach Guy Chouinard took the team to news heights during the 1998-99 campaign. The Remparts went 27 straight games without a loss (from September 2 to December 6, 1998) tying the record set in 1973-74 by the Sorel Éperviers. The record has since been broken by the Rimouski Océanic (28 straight games without a loss).

In 2003, Quebec City hosted the Memorial Cup, but the team lost all three of its games.

The 2006 - Memorial Cuparrival of Patrick Roy behind the bench during the 2005-06 season propelled the Remparts to a Memorial Cup win over the Wildcats as Alexander Radulov, the 2006 CHL player of the year, exploded offensively to enable the team to hoist the Cup on May 28 in Moncton. It would mark the first time in history that two teams from the "Q" met in the Memorial Cup final.Patrick Roy

From 2005-06 to 2012-13, Patrick Roy led the team as the Head Coach. The players were pushed to their highest level of excellence, and the results were really great: 8 consecutive seasons with a winning percentage over the .500 mark. During the summer 2018, Roy took the Remparts' Head Coach role for a second time (he coached the Colorado Avanlanche, in the NHL, from 2013 to 2016); March 1st, 2020, in only 673 games, he reached the 400 wins mark, in the lowest number of games, a new QMJHL exploit.

During the spring of 2015, one of the most exciting Final Series was played, but the Remparts lost in the 7th and decisive game against the Rimouski Oceanic. Despite the crual defeat, Adam Erne received the Guy-Lafleur Trophy as the Most Valuable Player in the Playoffs.

In 2006-07, the Remparts established a new QMJHL attendance record. More than 300,000 fans came at "Le Colisée Pepsi" during the season. 2021-22 - Zachary Bolduc (55 buts/goals | Remparts de Québec)But when the team transferred in the new arena, the Centre Vidéotron, 492,597 fans attended the 36 games played during the season and the playoffs, a record never seen before in the Canadian Hockey League.

In 2021-22, the Remparts won the Jean-Rougeau Trophy (1st rank in the QMJHL - for the 3rd time in the history of the franchise), with 104 points.  Forward Zachary Bolduc scored 55 goals, and just missed the franchise record of 61 (Alexander Radulov | 2005-06).

The 2022-23 season will never be forgotten by the Remparts' fans thanks to multiple feats.

  • The Triple Crown - the Remparts champions of the regular season (Jean-Rougeau Trophy) and the QMJHL playoffs (Gilles-Courteau Trophy), plus the ultimate title of the Canadian Hockey League in the very last game (Memorial Cup).
  • Zachary Bolduc scores 50 goals for the second season in a row.2023_QUEBEC_Champions_CPmem_JamesMalatesta_MVPMemCp
  • William Rousseau was rewarded with the Jacques-Plante trophy for finishing the regular season with a 2.22 goals-against average. The Remparts also proved to be the best defensive club in the circuit (2.31 goals-against average), earning the Robert-Lebel Trophy.
  • Franchise-record streaks of 14 straight regular-season wins at the start of the season, and another streak of 21 consecutive victories (8 late-season wins and 13 straight playoff wins).
  • Head coach Patrick Roy reaches the milestone of 500 wins and 800 regular-season games. He is now the record holder with the same QMJHL franchise, with 518 wins and 839 games behind the bench.
  • The Jean Sawyer Trophy (Marketing of the Year) was also awarded to the Remparts. One of the reasons for this title is the organization's success in attracting fans. In the final against Halifax, on 3 occasions, sold-out crowds of 18,259 fans were recorded at the Centre Vidéotron; an attendance record for a QMJHL playoff game.
  • James Malatesta was amazing during the 2023 Playoffs: 14 goals in 18 games, he tied the 5 game-winning goals of Eric Chouinard in one playoff year. He was named MVP of the QMJHL Playoffs, by receiving the Guy-Lafleur Trophy. Some days later, he received an other big honour at the end of the Memorial Cup tournament: an other MVP title for the #11 of the Remparts.

The team's notables over the years include: Eric Dazé, Martin Biron, Simon Gagné, Eric Chouinard, Alexander Radulov, Marc-Édouard Vlasic, Patrick Roy, Zachary Bolduc, William Rousseau, Nathan Gaucher, James Malatesta...

Memorial Cup 2006

© Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. All rights reserved.