History 2018-2019

Champions 1974-75, Sherbrooke

This franchise is rich in history.

Just before the start of their 48th season in the QMJHL, this franchise that involved teams from Sherbrooke, St-Jean-sur-Richelieu and Rimouski totalized 1614 wins in regular season, the best total for a franchise in the history of the QMJHL. No less than 7 regular season championships, four as the Sherbrooke Castors (1974-75, 1975-76, 1979-80, 1981-82) and three others with the Rimouski Oceanic colours (1999-00, 2004-05, 2014-15).

The franchise has participated in eleven (11) QMJHL finals - a QMJHL record -, winning it six times (3 in Rimouski : 2000, 2005, 2015). It also won one Memorial Cup title in 2000 in the Rimouski Oceanic uniform with their offensive leader Brad Richards.

This franchise joined the League in 1969. At the time, the team played in Sherbrooke and was named the Castors. The team dominated the 1970's, winning three President Cups in a six-year span (1974-75 to 1981-82). Remember their General Manager Georges Guilbault, and their Head Coach Ghislain Delage!

In 1982-83, the Castors moved to St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, where they stayed until 1994-95. Thereafter, the franchise moved to Rimouski and adopted the name "Océanic".Brad Richards

Right off the bat, the team enjoyed a string of success. The 1997-98 edition of the club reached the President Cup final before succumbing to the Val-d'Or Foreurs in four games. Then, Vincent Lecavalier was chosen with the first overall pick in the NHL Entry Draft.

Two years later, led by head coach Doris Labonté and star forward Brad Richards, the Océanic conquered the triple-crown: the Jean-Rougeau Trophy, the President Cup as well as the Memorial Cup.

Sidney CrosbyThree years later, the arrival of Sidney Crosby put the Océanic back on the winning track. In each of his two seasons (2003-04 & 2004-05), Crosby finished at the top of the scoring standings.

The Océanic enjoyed a remarkable 2004-05 season, at one point going 35 straight games (28 regular season + 7 playoff games) without a loss - a CHL record. Nevertheless, they fell to the eventual Memorial Cup champion London Knights 4-0 in the final.

In 2009, the Océanic is chosen by the QMJHL to become the Host Team of the MasterCard Memorial Cup Tournament. With only one win in 4 games, they ranked 4th in the standings.

But six years later in May 2015, the Rimouski Océanic renewed with the ultimate success. They won their 3rd President Cup since their arrival in Rimouski in 1995, 20 years before. Michaël Joly was the local hero with the game-winning goal in overtime in the 7th and decisive game of the Final Series, against their big rivals, the Quebec Remparts.

The team's notables over the years include: Nick Sanza, Rick Vaive, Ghislain Delage, Paul Boutilier, Vincent Lecavalier, Brad Richards, Doris Labonté, Maurice Tanguay, Sidney Crosby...

2015 Champions, Rimouski

© Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. All rights reserved.