History 2018-2019

In 1999, the QMJHL awarded a franchise to a group of investors led by former Montreal Canadiens general manager Serge Savard.

Maurice "Rocket" RichardThe franchise was baptized the "Rocket" in honour of Maurice "Rocket" Richard, whose legendary career is a part of the city's soul. Maurice Richard was on hand to witness the inaugural game of the franchise, which was played on September 9th, 1999 in the renowned Maurice Richard Arena.Pascal Leclaire

Following a four-year stint in Montreal, the franchise moved to PEI due to low attendance. But the nickname "Rocket" will be kept.

In 2004-05, during his 5th season, Pierre-André Bureau became the all-time leader for the number of games played with 346 games and a total of 239 points with the Rocket, a new lifetime record at the time.

Pierre-André BureauIn 2012-13, forward player Ben Duffy shined with a great 110-point-season, 5 points more than Jonathan Drouin (105 | Halifax). Duffy became the new franchise recordman with a total of 341 points while playing in the QMJHL.

During the spring of 2013, a wind of change blew on Prince-Edward Island, when the Savard family sold the team to new local investors. The Rocket became the Charlottetown Islanders.

The team's notables over the years include: Gaston Therrien, Pascal Leclaire, Alain Vigneault, Pierre-André Bureau, Maxim Lapierre, Ben Duffy...

Ben Duffy & Josh Currie

© Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. All rights reserved.