History 2018-2019

Normand Dupont

The ancestors of the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies are the Montreal Bleu-Blanc-Rouge which made their debut in the QMJHL in 1972.

Shortly after their inaugural season (1973-74), the franchise would change its name to "Junior de Montreal" and play its games in both the Paul-Sauvé Centre and the Montreal Forum.Denis Savard

Over the course of the 1980's, the team would be renamed the "Junior de Verdun" (1982-83) and then the "Canadien Junior" (1984-85).

In the spring of 1983, Pat Lafontaine (photo) led the franchise to its first President Cup title after crushing the Longueuil Chevaliers in the QMJHL final. The Junior's home games were played in front of capacity crowds of over 17,000 patrons at the old Forum - a league record.Pat Lafontaine

Martin BrodeurPrior to the start of the 1989-90 season, the team would again change addresses, this time moving to St-Hyacinthe. The "Laser" would play eight seasons in St-Hyacinthe while never finishing higher than 6th in the overall standings. Nevertheless, three Laser players were able to finish 1-2-3 in the scoring standings as Patrick Poulin (138), Martin Gendron (137) and Charles Poulin (135) terrorized opposing goaltenders.

The franchise packed-up and left shortly thereafter.

In 1996, the Rouyn-Noranda "Huskies" were born. They enjoyed one of their best season in 1997-98 as they finished second in the overall standings thanks to a club-record 43 wins in 70 games. The following year, Mike Ribeiro (167), James Tremblay (135) and James Desmarais (132) would become the third batch of forwards to finish 1-2-3 in the scoring standings.Mike Ribeiro

Chase MarchandThe 2007-08 season was exceptional as the Huskies registered 97 points in 70 games, finishing 1st in the overall standings. Although heavy favourites, they were defeated in the QMJHL final by the Gatineau Olympiques.

Eight years later, during the 20th anniversary season in 2015-16, the Huskies celebrated their first President Cup Championship victory, as they defeated the Shawinigan Cataractes in 5 games in the Final Series. Then, the team coached by Gilles Bouchard participated in the Memorial Cup Tournament, and reached the Final game... A cruel loss, 3-2 in overtime against the London Knights: what a performance for all guys, be proud!

The team's notables over the years include: Eric Taylor, Mario Tremblay, Robert Picard, Normand Dupont, Denis Savard, Pat LaFontaine, Martin Brodeur, Mike Ribeiro, Brent Aubin, Marc-André Bourdon, André Tourigny, Chase Marchand, Francis Perron...

LIVRE - 20 ans des Huskies

BOOK  -  Published in June 2017

written by Jean-Paul Charlebois, Huskies Play-by-play announcer

- only French version available -  TO ORDER, send a email to charlebois.jeanpaul@cablevision.qc.ca

"Un rêve devenu réalité


2016 - Champions LHJMQ - Rouyn-Noranda

© Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. All rights reserved.