History 2021-2022

Steve Duchesne

The Drummondville Voltigeurs took their first steps in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League in 1982.

After a difficult first season, the team enjoyed a string of success, racking-up six straight seasons with a .500 or better record.

Daniel BrièreThey played in the Memorial Cup final in 1991, which was held at the Colisée in Quebec, losing to the Spokane Chiefs of the Western Hockey League in the final. It would be the team's second appearance in the Memorial Cup Tournament (1988).

René Corbet (1993) was the first Voltigeurs' player to win a League scoring title with 148 points. Three other players won the Jean-Béliveau Trophy: Daniel Brière (1995-96 | 163 points), Yannick Riendeau (2008-09 | 126 points) and Sean Couturier (2009-10 | 96 points).

Yannick Riendeau - President Cup, 2009In 2008-09, the team beat its own records, when Yannick Riendeau was one of the greatest leaders in franchise history.

At the end of the regular season, the Voltigeurs won their first championship title, with 112 points and 54 wins.

And finally, on May 12, 2009, the Voltigeurs hoisted the President Cup for the first time in franchise history in front of a sell-out crowd at the Marcel Dionne Centre. It was a seven-game series to remember between Drummondville and Shawinigan.

The team's notables over the years include: Steve Duchesne, Steve Pépin, René Corbet, Ian Laperrière, Daniel Brière, Denis Gauthier, Guillaume Latendresse, Derick Brassard, Dominic Ricard, Guy Boucher, Yannick Riendeau, Dmitri Kulikov, Sean Couturier...

See the video, prepared for the 35th anniversary of the Voltigeurs, click here...

=> VIDEO - President Cup 2009 <=

Champions 2009

© Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. All rights reserved.