History 2018-2019

Jean-Pierre Cyr & Wayne Gretzky (propriétaire / owner)

The Olympiques are widely considered as being one of the most successful franchises in QMJHL history.

Adopted by the "Q" in 1973, the Olympiques started their major junior hockey trek slowly before taking flight in the 1980's.

Pat BurnsIn 1985-86, while the organization was owned by the legendary Wayne Gretzky, the Olympiques would win the regular season crown as well as their first President Cup title. It would be the beginning of a new era in the QMJHL, when the Laval Titan, Chicoutimi Saguenéens and Hull Olympiques would battle for the President Cup on a yearly basis.
Since 1986, the team has won four regular season championships and seven President CupsChampions 1988 - Alain Vigneault, head coach - a League Record! -  in ten appearances.

In 1997, the franchise hosted the Memorial Cup Tournament at the Robert-Guertin Arena. Fresh off a League title, rookie head coach Claude Julien led the club to junior hockey's ultimate prize, marking the second time in as many years that a QMJHL team would hoist the Memorial Cup (Granby | 1996).

Over the course of their history, the Olympiques earned seven births in the Memorial Cup Tournament. They reached the final four times, winning the prestigious Trophy once.Charles Henry

When head coach Benoît Groulx lifted the President Cup for the third time in the spring of 2008, he became the first coach in QMJHL history to win the prestigious trophy three times.

The team's notables over the years include: Sylvain Turgeon, Sam Lang, Charles Henry, Pat Burns, Luc Robitaille, Guy Rouleau, Alain Vigneault, Martin Gélinas, José Théodore, Claude Julien, Colin White, Jiri Fischer, Maxime Talbot, Benoît Groulx and Claude Giroux, Vitalii Abramov...

1997 - Champions Coupe Memorial / Cup | HULL

© Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. All rights reserved.