History 2021-2022

Die-hard fans probably remember the Sorel Éperviers, Granby Bisons and Predators. The Cape Breton Screaming Eagles were the fourth edition of the franchise which was founded in 1969; now we talk about the Cape Breton Eagles since the 2019-20 season.1973-74, Sorel, 25 consecutive wins, QMJHL record

In 1973-74, the Eperviers won 25 consecutive games, a mark always in the record book. During the same season, another unattainable record was established when the franchise recorded 620 goals thanks to a line of Pierre Larouche, Michel Déziel and Jacques Cossette; three players who have since been inducted into the QMJHL Hall of Fame and who each registered over 200 points in this magic season.

Raymond Bourque & Rodrigue LemoyneLawyer Rodrigue Lemoyne is certainly one of the main characters of the Éperviers' run in the 1970's. The colourful general manager had a knack for surprises and he didn't disappoint in the middle of the 1974 League final as he dismissed his head coach, Paul Dufour, to take over bench boss duties while the Éperviers were battling the Quebec Remparts for the championship crown. Moreover, after moving the franchise to Verdun in 1977, Lemoyne decided, in the middle of the 1979-80 season, to play the balance of the team's schedule in Sorel.

The franchise would land in Granby in time for the 1981-82 season and be baptised the "Bisons".

After failing to make the playoffs in seven of their first eleven seasons, the arrival of the Morrissette family, including Governor Georges Morrissette and GM Jean-Claude Morrissette, reversed that lacklustre trend.

Indeed, in 1995, the team's colours and name were revamped and the Grandy Predateurs were born. They fought the Hull Olympiques for the regular season crown but finished a close second. Nevertheless, in the playoffs, head coach Michel Therrien led the team all the way to the League championship, and thus to a birth in the Memorial Cup Tournament.

Champions 1995-96 | Michel Therrien, Francis Bouillon, Georges Morrissette, Jean-Claude MorrissetteThe Predateurs bullied the field, dispatching the Peterborough Petes in the final 4-0 to win the Memorial Cup. It would the first Memorial Cup win by a Quebec-based team in 25 years.

In 1997, the team moved to Sydney, Nova Scotia.

For 8 season, from 2000-01 to 2007-08, the team was under the expert leadership of Pascal Vincent (312 wins - team record as a coach) who was able to lead his team to the group of the best 4 team in the regular season.Marc-André Fleury

In 2003-04, the Eagles had their best times with 49 wins, while allowing only 164 goals, a new QMJHL record that resisted for 5 years.

Thus, the 2016-17 season marked the 20th anniversary of the Screaming Eagles in Cape Breton.

The team's notables over the years include: Rodrigue Lemoyne, Pierre Larouche, Jacques Cossette, Michel Déziel, Raymond Bourque, Patrick Roy, Pierre Turgeon, Michel Therrien, Pascal Vincent, Marc-André Fleury, James Sheppard, Ondrej Pavelec, Pierre-Luc Dubois...

© Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. All rights reserved.